Goal: Control who can do what in AskNicely.

Prerequisites: "Admin" rights in AskNicely.

Why Have User Roles?

User Roles are the tool we use to make sure people have the correct level of access to different parts of AskNicely. We wouldn't want just anyone to be able to fiddle with your surveying strategy, no matter how smart and clever your team members are.

There are three types of Users: Admins, Users, and Read Only. Admins can do everything; Users can use the Dashboard and the Responses page; Read Only folks can only see the Dashboard.

By clicking Settings > Users > User Roles, you can see who has access to what in addition to the permissions each of these roles are granted. Assign your team members to the role that best suits the level of access they need.

Standard roles and permissions

How to assign teammates to roles

To assign a teammate to a role, go to Settings > Users > Users, select the "Edit" option for that teammate, then select the correct role they should have from the User Roles dropdown menu.

How to change the permissions and access level of a role

To make changes to the access and permissions of a role*, select the user role, then use the on/off toggles to select which permissions you'd like to give the teammates with this user role.

Custom User Roles

If you’re on one of our custom plans, you can change whether these roles have access to workflow settings, user data, the ability to reply/edit/delete/publish responses, and export data from AskNicely - you also can create additional custom roles* as needed.

*Only available if your organization has upgraded to a custom plan - contact us for details.

How to create a custom role*

To create a custom role, add the new role name into the text box at the bottom of the page, and select Add Role. 

You can then use the on/off toggles to select which permissions you'd like to give the teammates with this user role.

Lock Filters*

If you want to restrict visibility to a very specific view, Lock Filters allow you to impose a filter upon a custom user role. Like normal filters, this requires a data point to have the appropriate value for it to be visible. 

Users will only see responses that match the information you select here. For example, you might lock someone to only see responses where a specific location exists in the “Location” field. Or you could limit your Customer Success Managers to only see clients where that CSM’s name exists in the “CSM” field. 

To add a Lock Filter to a User Role, click Add Filter

Choose the data point by which you want to filter. 

Choose the value(s) to lock the filter to (a) OR choose to set the value for each user individually (b)

Note: If you choose to set the value at the user level, you’ll need to go into each user with this role and assign the appropriate value to them. 

You may apply multiple values to the filter. In the example above, I could allow this concierge to see both Gold and Platinum customers. 

When your selections have been made, click Add to add the filter(s). 

Preview what your team sees with the "View As..." Feature

Now that the role has been created, if you might want to double check things and see how their view actually looks.

  1. Click on the Cog Wheel in the lower left corner
  2. In the Upper Left, under your name, you'll see a "View as someone else..."
  3. Click there to see how a different user will see the platform
  4. If you're first given an "user cannot access this page" message, click on the Dashboard button on the Upper Left.

You'll now be able to select a different user from your platform to see how the account will look to them: 

You'll now notice a blue bar across the top of your screen, this alerts you to which user you're currently viewing the account as: 

To exit this view you can click the top right "x" button or click the Cog Wheel and select "Stop Viewing As..." 

Version 1.3.2

Did this answer your question?